The Gleam

When you are young and trying to figure out the world, you haven’t a clue about what you are doing or who you are for that matter.  My memories are full of wanting to understand myself so badly, but feeling nothing but confusion.  Trying to make sense of the growing up process is a tough one.  I used to let people make fun of me, believe the horrible things they said and never once spoke up for myself.  I was a timid child.

You grow up and learn what it is to be someone, to be yourself.  To trust and believe in yourself.  And if you can find any sort of simplicity in your existence, while truly discovering your purpose simultaneously, that’s when you really win.

So today, while I’m unbelievably thankful for countless things, moments and people, I’m mostly proud of my mind, my soul; my identity.  I was fortunate to have the time to get to know myself and believe in myself.  I know what I want and I’m working to fulfill my passions.

If that’s not the ultimate reward in life, I don’t know what is.

Leave a comment