Neighbors

20140226-113406.jpg

Last night, as I approached the last full block of my walk home, I met an older gentleman on the corner. He reminded me to watch for traffic as I crossed the street. Upon further conversation, I learned that he is a bus operator and has lived in this very same Bushwick neighborhood for some 25 years. We discussed schooling, safety, technology, perception and even Sociology. His name is Eric and I am grateful to have met him.
A great portion of the time, I am engulfed in whatever music I am listening to. This is not to say that I do not pay attention. I am highly observational. But I desire these types of interactions and live to hear other peoples stories.
Sociology specially fascinates me. Although I am merely in the beginning of my academic career, I see big things for the future. It’s exhilarating to say the least.

Leave a Reply

