I Don’t Play Games

20130101-025229.jpg

I recently was told that I need to pay more attention to playing “the game”. While I appreciate the advice they were trying to pass along and I am, in fact, familiar with that “game”, I won’t be joining in.

I decided some time ago to be real; to be myself. Perhaps I’ll always be “too nice” and let my feelings show “too soon” and wear my emotions on my sleeve a bit too often. If these are the reasons I am still single at 31, then so be it. I’m holding out for someone who wants, loves and appreciates who I really am. I’m passed the point of games.

I used to be ashamed of who I was and it took me so long to grow. I’ve dug so deep to get to the core of my being and I’m not afraid to show it.

In the beginning of a new year there seems to be a lot of talk about all the things that went wrong in the previous year. But what about everything that didn’t? I always enjoy a bit of reflection on the previous year and my favorite moments. What wonderful memories can you recall? What are you proud of? Here are a few of mine:

  • Ran my first 5k
  • Spent time enjoying the beauty of Ohio
  • Enjoyed dating again
  • Relocated back to New York City
  • Made new friends
  • Decided what I want to do with my life
  • Yoga
  • My Mother visited New York
  • Let go
Leave a Reply

