Beyond What I Ever Imagined

 

It’s a brisk wintry night and I’m safe, cozy and warm indoors; staying at a friend’s house.  She is the true meaning of hospitality and friendship.  So many people will say they are there for you whenever you may need them.  But in the end, who actually lives up to these promises.  All I know is that, in my time of need, she was there.

 

The last few months have been a test and I am undoubtedly still making my way through.  But it’s all these obstacles that make the journey that much more worth it.

 

I’m currently reading the most wonderful book titled “The Last Lecture”.  It’s written by Randy Pausch, a man dying of pancreatic cancer.  It’s a book about living, the things that matter and simply appreciating life.  I recommend that you all read it.

 

“It’s not about how to achieve your dreams, it’s about how to lead your life, … If you lead your life the right way, the karma will take care of itself, the dreams will come to you.” 

 

“When you’re screwing up and nobody says anything to you anymore that means they’ve given up on you…you may not want to hear it but your critics are often the ones telling you they still love you and care about you and want to make you better.” 

 

“It took a long time, but I’ve finally figured it out. When it comes to men who are romantically interested in you, it’s really simple. Just ignore everything they say and only pay attention to what they do.” 

 

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They’re there to stop the other people.” 

 

 

 

A couple of days ago, I lost my phone.  Meaning (funny story) it fell in the toilet while I was at a holiday party and now it won’t turn on.  I was only upset for one reason.  The first thing I though of?  My pictures, all of my beloved pictures…  If there is one thing that keeps me going on a daily basis it is my self-documentation through the photos I have taken.  I’ve had that phone almost as long I have lived in New York.  Almost two years and over 3000 pictures later and here I am, almost devastated to lose that part of my journey, my vividly illustrated memories.

Perhaps it was just another brick wall.  There will be many more days, different adventures, countless new journeys and plenty of new pictures to keep my passion alive.  Tomorrow is always a brand new day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

