The Kitchen Chronicles

I tend to feel very inspired on and around a full moon. I am almost always in a fantastic mood, feel very relaxed and have an overall radiance about me. This is the perfect time for a project of any kind.

I discovered my love of cooking and baking almost four years ago, shortly before I made the switch to a Vegan lifestyle. I come from a long line of amazing cooks in my family, on both sides. Growing up I liked the food my parents and relatives fed me but didn’t necessarily appreciate it or feel any pull to learn the tricks of the trade.

It was when I first lived on my own that I began dabbling in the art of cooking. I had done a few things here and there but besides special occasions and the basics of mac and cheese, sandwiches, oatmeal and cookies, it was all new to me. I fell in love with google searching recipes. At first I would follow recipes fully and completely. Then I started to combine and collaborate. It seemed more fun that way. Besides, I felt more original that way instead of just using someone else’s ideas.

When I became Vegan it opened a whole new world of possibilities as far as recipes and ingredients go. There were all these new rules I had to follow and food I began to discover. I spent several days a week baking some new delicious Vegan treat. Since I did live alone and didn’t really have anyone to share these things with, I would always bring them to work with me. That’s probably my favorite part of cooking; sharing with others.

These days I do have my specialties and specific items that I make for certain Holidays because my friends and family request them πŸ™‚ But I am still constantly searching for a new challenge and I love to try new things. After going strong on almost four years of Veganism some people are still scared of what that means and very skeptical that anything with that word in it could actually taste good. I live to win over these very skeptics. It’s very possible. Believe me.

This leads me to tonight’s project. While residing in New York City I was employed by a Belgium bakery called Le Pain Quotidien. I was quite impressed when I learned about many of their Vegan menu items. Their bakery was quite astounding and I was the person who set up the display five days out of the week. Sometimes it was torture because hardly any of the sweets were Vegan but they would showcase some items here and there. There were these Chia seed muffins that looked so delicious but not Vegan. Chia seeds are quite beneficial to your health, as well as delicious and I always aspired to create my own version of that muffin. Tonight I did.

Vegan Chia Seed Muffins

1 cup flour
1 1/4 cup wheat flour
2 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp chia seeds
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
2 very ripe bananas-smashed
1 cup of dates either finely chopped or processed in Food Processor
3/4 cup almond milk
1/4 cup agave nectar or raw sugar
1/4 cup coconut oil or any other kind of neutral tasting oil
1/2 tbsp vanilla
1/2 tbsp cinnamon
Preheat oven to 375. Mix together dry ingredients and then add wet, stir until well combined. Spoon 1/4 cup of batter into each muffin tin and sprinkle a handful of chia seeds on top of each muffin. Bake for 15-18 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean.
ENJOY!!
Here was my finished product:

20120208-062330.jpg

One comment

  1. vegansparkles · February 8, 2012

    Ooh, super cute! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

