Weekly Update-Marathon Training WK 5

Here I am with the weekly doo da. Tonight I’m updating live from my bathtub, very toasty on red wine.
It was a lovely week filled with lots of food, alcohol, family time, holiday fun, not nearly enough exercise and a much needed mini vacation.
The week started off with crushes left and right. I realized that I have a thing for my one of my co-workers whom I refuse to persue. He is taken. I will not get wrapped up in that situation again, I promised myself. Either way, he’s a cool a guy and we understand each other. We’ve been talking a little and I guess it just feels nice to have that interaction again. It’s been forever.
I baked a birthday cake for a co-worker and everyone fell in love with my Vegan baking skills. Big surprise. It was nice.
My cousin, sister and I all went home for Christmas. By that I mean Sebring, my family’s Ohio hometown. It was my first time I was able to celebrate the holiday with all of them. I was truly thankful for that experience. We visited my grandmother in the hospital, cooked food, watched Christmas movies, drank a lot, laughed and finally played Just Dance 3 on my final night there. That game is so fun. I will always have great memories of this Christmas. I’m a pretty lucky lady.
Now for the training update. Since it was the holiday and due to the fact that I was out of town for 4 days, I didn’t get in as much gym time. I did however top my all-time longest distance run. I ran 7 miles straight. It was really painful during the actual run and the next day I felt like I was hit by a train. But it was completely worth it and I am just one step closer to my goal. In fact, I am already half way there. One short month ago my longest run was 3 miles and now it is 7. Progress is happening on more of a slower pace as I add more distance but at least it’s still happening. So it’s definitely back to the grind this week and I’m ready to push myself even harder.

“I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength, and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.”
–Arthur Blank

Leave a Reply

