Where Dreams Come True

Well I must say that although it has only been a week since I arrived, I have experienced and learned so much.  Arriving in a brand new state to start your life over, starting a brand new job, moving from a temporary residence to your permanent residence (one of the 3rd floor and one on the 2nd might I add), furnishing an entire apt (we went to IKEA so we had to put everything together) and learning the subway/bus system is quite a lot to handle in a week.

When we first arrived in Brooklyn, we were staying in a one bedroom/one bathroom apt.  It was the three of us that moved here plus our friend who is visiting temporarily.  So 4 girls sharing 2 beds and ONE bathroom.  I am surprised we didn’t kill each other.  There were times I thought we might.  Lol.  But we finally have our place (after searching and searching for apartments) and while it’s not much, it is ours and I like it.

More observations:

THE FOOD- You can literally find any type of food you could ever imagine.  You could walk a major street and pass Thai, American, Soul, Japanese, Jewish, Italian, Spanish and Mediterranean cuisines within one or two blocks.  It is so awesome.  We live a few blocks from Pratt University so there are a lot of really rad bars with great happy hours as well.  Many places are cash only though so I have to get used to that.

THE WATER- It is perfectly normal to drink tap water here.  It actually tastes good!  I was skeptical at first but it’s true.  Supposedly that is why you can’t get better pizza anywhere but NY.  The water that makes the dough is the reason it tastes so amazing.

MEN- Most times while walking down the street you see the guys hanging in big groups.  Being a very light-skinned Caucasian, I guess I really stand out.  I would say that about 80% of the time they make some sort of comment, whistle or make kiss noises.  I just ignore it and keep on going.  On the upside, aside from the scummy disrespectful men, there are some very attractive ones as well.  I’ve always been attracted to all ethnicities and there is such a great mix here.

FASHION- I love the way the ladies dress here.  Perhaps I can pick up some of the New York style soon.  It fascinates me because everyone is so original.  I love to people watch here.

MY JOB- I really enjoy my job but can see myself becoming bored easily.  So I am continuing to search for something else that will challenge me as well as looking into school.  All my co-workers are really cool and we all get along.  Everytime they learn that I am from AZ and that I just barely moved here they are shocked.  It’s funny.  The first thing they say is that I will hate the winter.  I’m sure it won’t be easy but it is what it is.  There is this guy named Cedric that is going to take me to a Reggae concert next week.  I am super stoked for that.

I can’t decide what my favorite area is because so far I love them all.  I could live here for the next ten years and still not be bored and have much more to discover.  So we’ll see what happens.  For now, I am proud of what I’ve accomplished so far and can’t wait to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

