Wishing Well

Over drinks last night, Simeon and I talked about life.  Particularly our lives and where we are headed.  “Where do you see yourself in ten years?”,  he asked me.  I thought about it.  I replayed the past 29 years in my mind, well mostly my adult years thus far.  I know I have perhaps accomplished some very small things in my lifetime but I have come nowhere near to portraying my full potential.  My hopes are quite grandiose.  So I answered by listing the things that I feel I want and need to have a fulfilling and meaningful life…

I want to feel true love.  The kind that flows both ways.  The kind that doesn’t hurt.  The innocent, sweet, wonderful, heart-warming love of a lifetime.

I want to have a successful career.  I want to give my all and make a difference in people’s lives.

I want children.  Something I want above all else.  The tricky part is, although this is my biggest desire, it is the one thing that is out of my control.  When all is said and done, I am either meant for this gift or not.  I just hope that being a mother is written in my cards somewhere.  Someday.

I want to travel and experience worlds outside of the US.  I am fascinated by other cultures and want to learn more about them and from them.

These are the key things I wish to be a part of in my lifetime, however long that may last.  I will consider my life a success if I am lucky enough to have them.

So as I was falling asleep on Simeon’s couch last night, almost a whole bottle of vodka later, I felt content in knowing that at least I know what I want and who I want to be, which is more than I could say before.

Leave a Reply

